Change Font Size

 Ddol Cottage

What a great 3 night break in this comfortable cottage in Wales!

We had a lovely welcome from the owners of Ddol Cottage who live next door who told us about local amenities, restaurants and pubs that serve good food.

We were lucky enough to have fine weather which made our stay even more enjoyable. One of the reasons we booked the cottage was because of the three cute donkeys that live in the garden.

Ddol cottage

Lovely friendly donkeys

They came to the fence as soon as they heard the door open looking for their favourite snacks of ginger biscuits, apples and carrots. We loved watching them play, their favourite game being welly wanging! What a great life they have grazing and entertaining the holiday makers who stay in this cottage.

While we were there we visited Aberystwyth, Aberaeron and Newquay. I can recommend the Harbour Master in Aberaeron for a tasty lunch watching the boats come and go.Newquay is a great place to wander and enjoy the beach, fish and chips and an ice cream.

Ddol cottage

Overlooking Newquay beach

The National Trust property in Llanerchaeron was a short journey away and well worth a visit.We really enjoyed the 18th century house with a pretty walled garden and woodland walks.There was an interesting collection of steam engines so something for everyone.

I can thoroughly recommend this location with its stunning coastline and such an array of things to see and places to visit.We will definitely be going back maybe for a winter break to enjoy the cosy wood burner in the cottage after a wild walk on the beach.

Meet The Author...
Sheila Holley
Who Am I?

Hereford born,I moved to Malvern aged 11. At 16 I left home to live in Birmingham,working and living in a children's home and training to be a Nursery Nurse.

In the mid seventies I had the opportunity to train as a midwife and entered the profession in a half hearted manner! It turned out to be a great career choice and I loved mostly every minute until I took early retirement in 2007. The job I loved so much had changed hugely and I felt if I couldn't do it my way then I would have to find another way to earn a living!

I now work part time in a nursery with children aged 6 months to 4 years so have returned to my roots! I am married with a great stepdaughter and 2 scrumptious granddaughters one of which I look after 1 day a week. Its lovely to have a flexible working pattern after so many years of working antisocial hours- weekends,Christmas and other bank holidays.At last I'm as near "normal" as I'm ever going to be!

More From This Author...

Comment With Facebook